Cover by Earthly Charms
The Blackbird
Book Four
Read Chapter One
"Find a place where there is joy and the the joy will burn out the pain."
~ Joseph Campbell
eISBN 978-09976-651-85
Print ISBN 978-09976-651-92
Arizona Territory 1877

Bounty hunter Cale Walker arrives in Tucson to search for J. Howard “Hank” Carlisle at the request of his daughter, Tess. Hank mentored Cale before a falling out divided them, and a mountain lion attack left Cale nearly dead. Rescued by a band of Nednai Apache, his wounds were considered a powerful omen and he was taught the ways of a di-yin, or a medicine man. To locate Hank, Cale must enter the Dragoon Mountains, straddling two worlds that no longer fit. But he has an even bigger problem—finding a way into the heart of a young woman determined to live life as a bystander.

For two years, Tess Carlisle has tried to heal the mental and physical wounds of a deadly assault by one of her papá’s men. Continuing the traditions of her Mexican heritage, she has honed her skills as a cuentista, a storyteller and a Keeper of the Old Ways. But with no contact from her father since the attack, she fears the worst. Tess knows that to reenter Hank Carlisle’s world is a dangerous endeavor, and her only hope is Cale Walker, a man unlike any she has ever known. Determined to make a journey that could lead straight into the path of her attacker, she hardens her resolve along with her heart. But Cale makes her yearn for something she vowed she never would—love.

Blog Posts related to THE BLACKBIRD

Naming A Series After Birds

Evolution of a Novel

The Dreaded Deadline

The Final Stages Of Writing A Book

New Release--First Kiss Excerpt

"With dastardly villains, plenty of action, a strong heroine, surprising twists and turns, and a sexy cowboy, all underlined by a sensual love story, this historical western romance has something for everyone."
~ Janna Shay, InD'tale Magazine
Western Romance Category
Now available in print.
Copyright © 2015-2017  K. McCaffrey LLC
This page was last updated: February 9, 2017